CE Certificate and Machinery Safety Regulation

CE Certificate, developed in the framework of the European Union and Turkey’s technical harmonization and produced is a mark of conformity indicating that the product has a basic minimum level of safety.This mark is not related to quality assurance such as ISO 9001 and so on. The CE Certificate is a sign indicating that the product meets the minimum safety requirements in terms of human health, life and property safety, animal, plant life and environment as well as the protection of the consumer.

For many products, CE Mark / Mark is a brand that can be printed with the company seeing itself as sufficient.However, without don’t make any tests for product,without preparing technical files, CE marking without taking the opinion of an expert is a large risk taken institutionally.

As a result, because of the problems that may occur in their products, companies may have to face the penalties they cannot afford.

The basic requirements of the machines, information such as the minimum safety conditions, It is stated in the directive 2006/42 / AT published by the EU Council.In addition, the machines are also covered by the Electromagnetic Compatibility Regulation and the Low Voltage Directive.

All machines must comply with the rules specified in these Regulations. In order to shed light on how the basic conditions and safety conditions stated in the regulations are provided, the documents issued by the Council of the EU shall be issued by the organizations.These documents are called “Standard”  Design and production in accordance with the standards shall ensure that the produced machine complies with the requirements of the Regulation.
EN Standards are prepared by European Standard Organizations such as CEN, CENELEC, EIC and ETSI.
These standards are transformed into the National Standard by the member countries. In short, they become Harmonized Standard.

For example;
IEC 60204-1, ISO 12100:2010
EN 60204-1, EN ISO 12100:2010
TS EN 60204-1 , TS EN ISO 12100:2010

Standard Types according to the Machinery Safety Regulation
The EN Standards for Safety are evaluated in three groups as A, B and C Type Standards;

A-General Safety Standards
B-Risk Groups Standards
C-Standards for Products
Type A Standards
Type A Standards determine the basic design principles and basic rules that apply to all machines.Applying these standards only provides a basic framework for the correct implementation of the Machinery Safety Regulation, the implementation of the regulation is not sufficient for the relevant basic health and safety rules.

For example:
TS EN ISO 12100:2010 Safety for machines – General principles for design– Risk assessment and risk reduction
The provisions of this standard apply to all machines.

Type B Standards
B-type standards are machine safety standards used in a wide range of machine categories. Type B Standards are sufficient to meet the essential requirements of the Machinery Safety Regulation for most machinery and product groups.

Type B Standards Standards that provide the way security is provided. Applies only to machines with associated risk.

For example:
TS EN ISO 13849-1 Safety in machines – Safety-related parts of control systems – Part 1: General principles for design

Type C Standards
C type standards are special products applied for products. C type Standards may refer to standards type A and type B. Detailed safety standards for a specific machine or machine group.

For example:
TS EN ISO 11111-2 Textile machinery – Safety rules – Part 2: ready to spinning and spinning machines